The Longest Walk

Wild Blackberries

Wild Blackberries

Green Worm

Green Worm

I just finished the longest walk I’ve taken in a long time – about 9,000 steps and about 4.5 miles.  I did the Long Lake loop with extensions.  Before leaving I liberally spayed my cap with OFF and sprayed the back of my head and neck.  The flies were still around but not as great a nuisance as yesterday.  I would have finished my walk more quickly except that many times I dawdled to pick and gobble wild blackberries.  I finally stopped when I felt I was becoming a berry glutton.  I think I ate at least one serving of fruit.

8:00 PM

I logged 20,786 steps which is 9.78 miles.  I was hoping to get my Fitbit 25,000 step medal today, but I’ve exhausted myself.  I suppose I could do another 4,500 steps today, but I don’t think it would be worth doing.  I might end up with heat exhaustion.  I don’t know if 20,789 is a personal record.  I will still log more steps before bed.  I might at least go out for a slow, slow and short stroll after dark.  I can at least exceed 21,000.  I fell pretty good about the walking I’ve been doing given the following charts.  The second chart shows that I’m in the 97th percentile of steps walked per day for men of all ages.

Steps Chart

Steps Chart

Steps Percentiles

Steps Percentiles

I picked up the photos I had printed for the county fair competition.  They all look great.  I feel good about my chances to win a ribbon.  Vicky Sarner says the competition at Washington County will be greater than at Ramsey County which is a small, rather bare-bones county fair.

Before

Before

After

After

I’m still learning Gimp.  Here is an experiment in combining two images, one with a rather lackluster sky and the other of only clouds, but rather dramatic clouds.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

